The John Jones Surgical Society

Announcements  |  Events  |  Officers  |  Membership  |  Contact  |  Remembering Dr. Forde  |  Resources

The John Jones Surgical Society

For those who have trained with us over the years, an organization was formed called the John Jones Surgical Society, after the author of the first surgical textbook in the colonies and our first Professor of Surgery. John Jones was one of the five people who petitioned the governors of Kings College (as Columbia was called at that time), and received a charter from King George III to establish the medical college.

Our hope is to establish and maintain two-way communications with some 900 Alumni so that they are aware of what we're doing, and we can share news of their accomplishments and activities, thus preserving the history of the Department of Surgery at Columbia University Irving Medical Center and NewYork-Presbyterian.

Join the Society

Announcements & Events

John Jones Fellowship 2024-2025

Applications Open December 4th, 2023

To apply, download and fill out this form and email it with your accompanying requested background information to Trisha J. Hargaden at

Submission Cutoff:
Friday, March 15, 2024

The winner receives a grant of $6,000.00 to conduct research, and is named the John Jones Fellow for 2024-2025. The fellow presents research results at the Annual Meeting of the John Jones Surgical Society in early spring, 2025.

For more information, contact the Administrator, Trisha J. Hargaden, at

Learn More About The Fellowship

Upcoming Events

See past events

More News

See past news archive

About the Johns Jones Surgical Society

Since its inception the John Jones Surgical Society has been guided by a Steering Committee, with the support of the Department of Surgery Chair. A "Constitution and By-Laws" was drawn up and is continually refined as the Society matures. In 2007, the position of officers was formalized with Kenneth A. Forde, MD, co-founder of the Society, becoming its first President.

Current Officers

President (Ex Officio), 2022 – 2024

  • Stephanie L. Goff, MD (2012)

President-Elect, 2022 – 2024

  • Juan J. Nogueras, MD (1987)

Past President, 2022 – 2024 

  • John A. Chabot, MD (1990)

Secretary, 2022 – 2024

  • Steven Stylianos, MD (1988)

Treasurer, 2022 – 2024

  • Amanda J. Powers, MD (2011)

Recorder of the Society, 2021 – 2024

  • Eugene Kim, MD (2003)

Steering Committee 2022 – 2025

  • Marissa Boeck, MD (2018)
  • Marilyn W. Butler, MD (1994)
  • Andre R. Campbell, MD (1992)
  • Robert J. Dabal, MD (2000)
  • Claire E. Graves, MD (2019)
  • José G. Guillem, MD (1990)
  • Beth R. Hochman, MD (2013)
  • Steven Lee-Kong, MD (2011)
  • Steven K. Libutti, MD (1995)
  • Alexander Shifrin, MD (F-2006)
  • Henry M. Spotnitz, MD (CT-1975)
  • Gary A. Tannenbaum, MD (1989)
  • Craig R. Smith, MD (CT-1984) (Department Chair)

PGY 5 Representative (2023-2024)

  • Alexander Thomas, MD

Nominating Committee, 2023 – 2024

  • Stephanie L. Goff, MD (President – Ex Officio)
  • Herb Mendel, MD (Chair)
  • Mike Hirsh, MD (Member)
  • Steve Ruby, MD (Member)
  • Trisha J. Hargaden, JJSS Administrator

Program Committee, 2023 – 2024

  • Alan I. Benvenisty, MD (JJSS Member)
  • Stephanie L. Goff, MD (President – Ex Officio)
  • José G. Guillem, MD (Past President)
  • Juan Nogueras, MD (President-Elect)
  • Steven Stylianos, MD (Treasurer)
  • Gary A. Tannenbaum, MD (JJSS Member)
  • Trisha J. Hargaden (Administrator)


  • Trisha J. Hargaden

For 2020 – 2024 Officers and Committees, click here.

Becoming a Member of the JJSS

Surgeons who received their training in the Department of Surgery, as well as present surgical faculty at Columbia University Irving Medical Center, are eligible to become active members of the John Jones Surgical Society. Surgeons who trained in part with the Department of Surgery (including fellows) and past surgical faculty will be considered for membership by the Membership Committee on an individual basis. Current Residents and Fellows in the Department of Surgery are eligible to join as candidate members. Surgeons who trained at NewYork-Presbyterian in departments other than Surgery who wish to join the Society and are interested in its aims, are welcome to apply as Associate Members.

Updating Our Files

As alumni advance in their careers, take on new roles, change cities or move overseas, the Society attempts to keep their information current through its database. As part of that process, we invite members to provide us with their current information via our Alumni Questionnaire.

Reconnecting with Missing Alumni

Our missing alumni list contains many alumni with whom we have lost contact. If you have any information on the whereabouts of missing members, please contact us.

Contact Us

If you have questions regarding eligibility or membership in general, or information about missing alumni, please contact:

Trisha J. Hargaden
Phone: (212) 305-2735,  between 8am – 4pm EST.

Columbia University Department of Surgery
Finance Office
21 Audubon Avenue, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10032

Join the Society

In Memory of Dr. Kenneth A. Forde

Kenneth A. Forde, MD

Dr. Kenneth A. Forde, co-founder of the JJSS, passed away in 2019. Dr. Forde will always be remembered as a giant in his field and a caring mentor for the Columbia community. In his memory, we share these remembrances:

Resources & More

Help Support the JJSS

If you would like to contribute to the John Jones Fellowship fund:

Donate Online: click here to donate online

By Check: make your check payable to “Trustees of Columbia University” with “John Jones Research Fellowship” noted on the memo line and mail to:

John Jones Surgical Society
Attn: Trisha J. Hargaden
Columbia University Department of Surgery
Finance Office
21 Audubon Avenue, 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10032

Learn the History of the Columbia Department of Surgery

A Proud Heritage: An Informal History of Surgery at Columbia,” edited by Frederic P. Herter, MD, Alfred Jaretzki III, MD, and Kenneth A. Forde, MD, captures the personal dedication, intellectual excitement, and intrinsic joy of Columbia surgeons through the ages, and offers an insider's look at a surgeon's life.

Copies of the book are available on a donation basis. Donations will be directed to support the John Jones Research Fellowship Fund, which supports the research activities of a General Surgery resident selected on a competitive basis.

To obtain a copy of the history book, contact the Trisha J. Hargaden via email or call (212) 305-2735 between 8am - 4pm (EST)

Access Dr. Smith’s Updates Archive

Each day during the peak of the COVID-19 crisis, Dr. Craig Smith, Chair of the Department of Surgery, sent an Update to faculty and staff about pandemic response and priorities. We’ve collected all of Dr. Smith's Updates from this time, as well as additional Updates he has put out since.

More Resources